Year of Construction: 1800
We are pleased to offer this lovely old farmhouse, dating back to the 1770's. Typical of farmhouses in Gozo, one first enters into a pretty traditional courtyard with an external staircase and a traditional well. Off this courtyard are entrances to the three main living rooms of the house at this level.
To the right is a very spacious and impressive traditional mill-room with arches spanning down to ground, currently used as a living room. This room opens out onto a private lower garden used for alfresco dining.
Back to the courtyard a doorway straight ahead leads into a very spacious room divided into two spaces, and used as a large dining room, with windows and several doors all overlooking, and leading, into the large garden, creating a light and bright modern space which blends perfectly with the older part of the farmhouse.
This in turn leads to a large arched room used for storage and services, a bathroom, and then onto a bright and light bedroom, which is currently used as a study. This in turn leads directly to the garden.
To the left of the courtyard is a cosy arched kitchen and breakfast room.
A traditional external stone staircase leads up to several wide terraces, off which there are a further 3 bedrooms, two of which are en-suite. Off the same terrace areas there is another shower room. Two of these bedrooms has traditional xorok and kileb stone ceilings indicating the age of the property, as well as votive niches.
At the end of the property at this level there is a massive modern bedroom, currently used as a third living room, with views across to Ta Dbiegi hill and also over the garden. This room could easy be converted to include a large-ensuite.
The sun drenched first floor terraces are perfect for sitting out and provide distinct areas to relax.
The ground floor garden is on two levels, with both lower levels currently used for dining. The main garden has ample space for a good size pool.
All the main rooms and bedrooms in the property also have radiators installed making the property exceptionally comfortable for year round and winter living.
A lovely property oozing with character and features which would make a great holiday home, a rental or B&B business, or a full time home with relatively little intervention.
San Lawrenz is a charming traditional village situated on the west of the island of Gozo and next to the Ta’ Dbiegi Craft Village. The village is built upon a flat surface surrounded by three hills - Ta' Ghammar, Ta' Gelmus and Ta' Dbiegi. The latter is 195 metres above sea level and boasts the highest point in Gozo.
San Lawrenz also has within its territory the beautiful Dwejra Bay which is renowned for its unique ecological aspects, not only recognised by all Gozitans and locals but also internationally. The Dwejra nature reserve is administratively part of the town. Prominently in the reserve is the Fungus Rock, and formerly also the Azure Window landmark before its collapse on March 8 2017
This picturesque village has succeeded in retaining its traditional, rural lifestyle despite the presence of a five-star hotel (the Kempinski San Lawrenz offering a wide range of health and spa treatments) on its fringes.
San Lawrenz is one of two villages named after a saint in Gozo. The other one is that of Santa Lucija. By the 4th century AD the devotion towards Saint Lawrence had spread worldwide and also reached our shores. By the end of the middle ages there were three churches dedicated to Saint Lawrence, one inside the Citadel, one near Ta' Ghodlien and another at Ta' Ciangura. The village assumed the name from the church.
It was established as a parish on 15 March 1893. Before this date, the area was known as Ta’ Ċangura, and as such its existence can be traced back to before the tragic Siege of Gozo in 1551 that saw most of the population enslaved by the Ottoman Turks.
Until it was declared a parish in its own right, it formed part of the neighborhood of l-Għarb. However, the people of San Lawrenz decided they wanted a separate community and their own church. The foundation stone for this new church was laid and consecrated in 1886 with a relic of Saint Lawrence placed carefully beneath it. Every villager participated with great enthusiasm in the building of the church.
The village feast of San Lawrenz is celebrated in the first week of August.