Year of Construction: 1840
Furnished: Optional Furnished
This delightful old farmhouse has been skilfully converted to create light-filled rooms while retaining the character of the original house. It offers many unique features including kileb, shorok, mangers, traditional maltese patterned tiles, an underground rock-cut mill room, internal well, and double height living spaces.
One enters a wide and spacious arched hallway with multiple openings onto four rooms, and also a well, complete with a traditional stone horza (well head).
The first room with traditional arches is used as a snug, but could be used as a small bedroom, TV room or an office. This in turn leads into a spacious dining room and kitchen, with doorways leading back out to the hallway and the large lounge, creating a nice flow.
Further along the main corridor there is a traditional stone staircase, previously open to the elements within a courtyard, but since covered over but flooded with light from the large skylight above. A pellet stove located by the staircase provides heating for the core of the house.
Beyond the staircase there is a magnificent double height baronial style living room filled with light from the large arched doorway at the end and also from skylights above the room and the open stairs. The living room offers lots of flexible space and is furnished with a working stone fireplace ideal for the winter months.
Next to this there is a large family toilet with shower room. Large double doors with a fanlight above lead directly to the pool area.
Outside there is a doorway leading down to a rock cut cellar level circular room which was previously used as a mill room. It would make an excellent wine cellar.
Off the pool area there is a further arched room which could be used as a (fifth) summer bedroom, or indeed also as a pool kitchen and bar area, or a day room or office. The options are endless.
This then opens out to a spacious pool deck and large pool overlooking fields and the sea around Dwejra. A perfect location to watch the sun set directly into the sea.
Upstairs there is an en-suite master bedroom overlooking the country and se views, also with a very private large terrace overlooking the pool area and open views. At this level there are a further three bedrooms and a bathroom.
A very spacious and unique property with a high degree of privacy, excellent 270 degree views of the countryside and the sea, and a perfect place to chill out and enjoy the fantastic sunsets we enjoy in Gozo.
San Lawrenz is a charming traditional village situated on the west of the island of Gozo and next to the Ta’ Dbiegi Craft Village. The village is built upon a flat surface surrounded by three hills - Ta' Ghammar, Ta' Gelmus and Ta' Dbiegi. The latter is 195 metres above sea level and boasts the highest point in Gozo.
San Lawrenz also has within its territory the beautiful Dwejra Bay which is renowned for its unique ecological aspects, not only recognised by all Gozitans and locals but also internationally. The Dwejra nature reserve is administratively part of the town. Prominently in the reserve is the Fungus Rock, and formerly also the Azure Window landmark before its collapse on March 8 2017
This picturesque village has succeeded in retaining its traditional, rural lifestyle despite the presence of a five-star hotel (the Kempinski San Lawrenz offering a wide range of health and spa treatments) on its fringes.
San Lawrenz is one of two villages named after a saint in Gozo. The other one is that of Santa Lucija. By the 4th century AD the devotion towards Saint Lawrence had spread worldwide and also reached our shores. By the end of the middle ages there were three churches dedicated to Saint Lawrence, one inside the Citadel, one near Ta' Ghodlien and another at Ta' Ciangura. The village assumed the name from the church.
It was established as a parish on 15 March 1893. Before this date, the area was known as Ta’ Ċangura, and as such its existence can be traced back to before the tragic Siege of Gozo in 1551 that saw most of the population enslaved by the Ottoman Turks.
Until it was declared a parish in its own right, it formed part of the neighborhood of l-Għarb. However, the people of San Lawrenz decided they wanted a separate community and their own church. The foundation stone for this new church was laid and consecrated in 1886 with a relic of Saint Lawrence placed carefully beneath it. Every villager participated with great enthusiasm in the building of the church.
The village feast of San Lawrenz is celebrated in the first week of August.